5 Comments
May 31, 2022Liked by Valorie Castellanos Clark

Great question! I just finished season 1 of ROME, HBO's dramatization of Julius Cesar's rise to power. It is soooo good, but unfortunately HBO canceled it before Season 2 even aired due to production costs. AFAIK, it's very accurate.

What's interesting is how similar it is to Game of Thrones, which would go into production only a few years later. Clearly HBO learned they dropped the ball and wanted to do GOT right.

I highly suggest everyone check it out. I'd love to be a part!

Expand full comment

My favorite historical movie, despite some of its inaccuracies, is The Ten Commandments. If you've never seen it I highly recommend it as it is truly one of the classics and has an all star cast, at least during the time it was released. I grew up in church and have read the books of the Bible where the story of Moses originated. Is the movie accurate? In most parts it is, but of course it's inaccurate in many spots as well. Think a live action version of the animated feature The Prince of Egypt. I have yet to see an "accurate" biblical movie (Ben-Hur anyone?) but I'm ok with that. I doubt the Lord Almighty will smote the movie makers as I'd like to think he would appreciate the free publicity. Yes, I would be interested in hosting an event as well.

Expand full comment